Birthday Books! #WorldBookDay

It’s World Book Day today! If you haven’t met me or you’re new to my blog then fyi I LOVE books! I’m trying (for a second time) to read 50 books this year but unfortunately I have a tendency to buy books faster than I read them. It was my birthday recently and my aunt, uncle & cousins gave me an Amazon voucher (thanks!) and naturally a spent it, and some, on books!

Some of these are books that I’ve had my eye on for a while and others were recommended by my friend Leena. She has a YouTube channel and talks about feminism and books amongst other things. You should definitely check it out!

Here are the books I bought! Happy Birthday, me!

Just now looking at them all together I realise there may be some kind of them… Spinster? Breaking up? Sleeping alone? Not giving a fuck? WHAT KIND OF HEAD SPACE AM I IN RIGHT NOW?!

Spinster: Making A Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick

IMG_8582

With the way my life is going at the moment I think I need to learn to embrace spinsterhood. Also the subtitle of this book reminds me of what I was trying to say in the paragraph “I’m set in my ways” in my blog post on being single. I’m genuinely so interested to see what Kate Bolick has to say about relationships, being single and remaining single.

The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight

IMG_8584

The moment Leena mentioned this book I thought I have to have it! It’s sort of a parody of self-help books but it’s all about how to not give a fuck. To be honest, I’m expecting it to be actually helpful as well as really funny. I often give too many fucks and it’s exhausting caring about so many things and this book will help me budget my fuck-giving.

All This Has Nothing to do with Me by Monica Sabolo

IMG_8583

From what I understand this book is about a woman who fancies a guy at work and becomes quite obsessed with him. There’s art and drawings in the book like their office plan and where they sit in relation to each other. It’s meant to be pretty creepy and funny and I’m looking forward to reading something from the perspective of someone with an unhealthy fascination with another person. Maybe I can relate.

Why We Broke Up by Mark Kalman

IMG_8585

If you hadn’t noticed I’ve been a bit obsessed with break ups recently. With my whole blog about my favourite break up songs and then I did a show on BBC Radio 1 where I spoke about break ups and played break up songs for an hour. Fun times. This is YA book about why a couple have broken up. It’s in letter form and goes through various objects in a box that have some connection to the relationship and explain why they broke up. I’ve avoided YA fiction that focuses on romance for so long that I’m excited to read a really good one… well, an anti-romance one.

The Art of Sleeping Alone by Sophie Fontanel 

IMG_8586

This is the memoir of a French woman who gave up sex for a year. Needless to say I am very intrigued about the results of her pledge and curious to see if this book changes how I think about my personal relationship with sex.

Damn, there really is a theme here. I’ll let you know how I get along with them! Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

Signature hannah journal

*I am a Book Depository Affiliate and get a small cut of purchases made through my links

5 thoughts on “Birthday Books! #WorldBookDay

  1. I’ve just bought The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**K and I can’t wait to read it! The others all look really interesting too so I’ll definitely look into them. This post has been really helpful, thank you! 🙂

    Like

  2. All of these look so interesting! I’m really interested to see how Why We Broke Up is compared to other YA I’ve read – an anti-romance YA is quite hard to come across.

    Jemima x
    anotherrantingreader.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  3. I think I’m going to go any buy pretty much all of these books and add them to my 50 book challenge list! It’s not going too well atm, I’m only 5 books in!

    Beth x
    thecatsouthebag.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any of these books yet. I’d love to read The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k … I think I’d find it helpful. I probably should avoid All This Has Nothing to do with Me; it might give me ideas! Lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

