How To Be Confident #LiveFearless

talent_banner_bodyform_logo_-_biscuit_films

This post is sponsored by Bodyform

Bodyform are running a campaign called #LiveFearless about empowering women to be their best selves, live fearlessly, bravely and without inhibitions. Which is an idea I think we can all get behind!

For some reason, a lot of people online come to me for advice. Unfortunately, I can’t respond to everyone’s individual questions but I thought I would answer one that I get all the time. And I mean ALL THE TIME. You guys have noticed, and rightly so, that I am a confident person and you often ask me how I’m so confident and open and if I have any tricks and tips. When I first got these questions, I had literally no idea how to help because I always assumed that I was just a naturally confident person. I didn’t have any advice on how to go from being not confident to confident because it’s just who I am, I’ve always been confident.

 

But after getting this question over and over again, I thought more about it and had to confront something about myself that I had completely missed out. I had forgotten something entirely. Backstory: I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis when I was 7 years old and had flare ups every couple of years until my last one when I was 15. Now, it’s a bit of a mystery illness, it affects everyone differently and doctors aren’t 100% what causes it or what can trigger symptoms but there’s a lot of theories. One of the theories that I was told when I was 12 years old was that it could be to do with stress. My doctor asked me if I was prone to bottling up my emotions and keeping secrets, I said yes (because I was) and he asked me to try and be more open because it might make me better. And so I did. I literally forced myself to be more open and become a sharer. I told my friends about boys I fancied, I spoke my mind and I put myself out there. All in the name of good health! After a while it started to become second nature and that’s the Hannah you see now. I’ve become a compulsive over-sharer! Being confident is such a part of me now that I had completely forgotten that there was ever a time that I wasn’t this way. And I think that’s pretty cool.

I realise that my story is very specific and will probably help no-one but there is a message in there that I now tell people when they ask me how to be confident. It’s not the only way and it might not work for everyone but it worked for me.

Fake it until you make it.

Just pretend. Think: What would a confident person do? How would a confident person behave? And then act like that person. That’s basically what I did. Confidence doesn’t only come from within yourself, it also comes from how people perceive you. If you act confident then people will treat you as if you’re a confident person, if people treat you like you’re a confident person you will act more confident. And it becomes a big positive happy confidence boosting cycle! But you are the one that has to start the cycle. If you just pretend for a while, you will eventually become it.

A great form of pretending and confidence building is doing improv which I made a video about and you can watch here:

I hope that this has helped in some way and will lead you on your journey to confidence! But remember, there’s nothing wrong with being shy and feeling insecure, I still get those feelings from time to time in certain scenarios so you shouldn’t feel ashamed if you’re not a naturally confident person. But maybe this will help you feel more comfortable and happy in some situations.

Bodyform are running a competition as part of their #LiveFearless campaign where you could win a trip around the world! All you have to do is go to www.livefearlesswithbodyform.co.uk and upload a photo or a video of a time that you lived fearlessly!

Let me know in the comments if you have any advice to add on how to be confident!

Signature hannah journal

5 thoughts on “How To Be Confident #LiveFearless

  1. Interestingly, in my world (helping people with depression and social anxiety) I see a lot of people with the exact opposite issue, you said “Being confident is such a part of me now that I had completely forgotten that there was ever a time that I wasn’t this way” and I often see people who have been struggling with depression or social anxiety or low confidence (including self confidence) that they literally cannot imagine that there is any other way to be, even if they see someone else who is showing them that it IS possible. They tend to say “yes, but that’s you, I could never be like that”!! Well with a mindset like that, they certainly won’t be able to”be like that” because you have to believe it is possible, otherwise you will never even try….

    Like

  2. This post is really brilliant and I loved reading it! I believe when I first came across your YouTube channel, it was your confidence and personality that won me over, I watched you and was just like, “This girl is so quirky, and overall so gosh darn hilarious that I want to be just like her!” More so relating to your confidence in videos and things of that nature, but also with what you post, I thought I could be like that too. I love how you wrote fake it until you make it, and the examples that you list. It’s really so true. 👌🏻 You never realize the effect that you may have on people and how they perceive you can really help with development.

    Keep being amazing Hannah.
    xo Cosmix

    Like

Leave a Reply

