My First Meet Up – The Institute of Sexology #UndressYourMind

A week ago I hosted my first ever meet up and it was amazing. If I do say so myself.

 

First of all, thank you so much to everyone who came. You were all so lovely and fun and I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to spend my evening with! Seriously, you were all so nice. One girl, Lou, turned up without a place to stay that night but made friends with someone at the event who offered to host her. You guys are amazing people! I really hope that a beautiful friendship has blossomed now because of this.

The event took place at Wellcome Collection’s exhibition called The Institute of Sexology. If you know anything about me you’ll know that my dissertation for my history degree was about the history of sexology and I also talk about sex a lot on my YouTube channel so this venue seemed like the perfect fit. I’d actually been in talks with some people from Wellcome for a while about ways that I could be involved in the exhibition and that is where the idea of this meet up was born!

Wellcome Collection allowed me and my wonderful viewers to explore the space after hours and there were a few ‘busking’ sessions where staff gave talks and showed us different objects from the exhibition. Everyone sat around and listened and asked questions and I couldn’t help but feel so proud and happy (that might have been the wine though). Did I mention they also provided us with drinks and nibbles? Wellcome Collection, you are the best. Thank you.

hannahwittonundressyourmind041

In this photo we’re being shown a tiny model of a penis that used to be carried in a pouch around your neck for good luck. 

I had so much adrenaline running through me that evening and I had a such a great time. I hope everyone who came enjoyed themselves as much as me! And it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all! This has definitely given me a lot of ideas for the types of events I want to host in the future. Personally, I am not a fan of the ‘meet and greet’ style events. Obviously, there was an element of that at my meet up but most of our time was spent looking around the exhibition, listening to talks and eating and drinking. I would love to hear your feedback on the event and even if you weren’t there, what kind of events would you like to see me host in the future? And depending on what it is, would you pay for it? The event at the Institute of Sexology was free but that definitely contributed to people who had booked tickets not showing up on the day. Lots to think about, lots to learn!

Thank you again for being such a wonderful audience!

Signature hannah journal

3 thoughts on “My First Meet Up – The Institute of Sexology #UndressYourMind

  1. I really liked the fact that it was casual and very much in line with your work on and off youtube. I don’t usually like meet and greets because it puts the “Youtuber” on a pedestal and it can become very awkward at times, which was not the case here. We got to chat and hear a lot about really interesting topics and it was… well, it was perfect! I was surprised that the event was free, and I for one would be willing to pay something if ever something like this is organised again, especially when there are people offering us food and giving presentations. Perhaps we should have had some kind of general discussion around one particular subject as well, but that’s my french debate-loving side kicking in haha. Thanks again, I had a great time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

